• Friday, December 08, 2023
businessday logo


Guber poll: Agbaje wins at his polling unit

Jimi Agbaje-votes

Jimi Agbaje, governorship candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Lagos State, won at his polling unit 002 Ward A, in Apapa, defeating his closest rival and candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

Agbaje, who had previously contested the governorship election in the state in 2011, 2015 and lost, scored 79 votes, while Sanwo-Olu polled 63 votes at the unit.

The APC, however, won the State House of Assembly election at the same unit, polling 73, while the PDP scored 66.

The gubernatorial and state House of Assembly election Lagos State was marred by voter apathy across the state, with many registered voters staying away from the poll.

Speaking to reporters after casting his vote earlier in the day, the PDP candidate expressed confidence in winning the election, saying that the numbers were on his side.


Iniobong Iwok