• Thursday, July 25, 2024
businessday logo


APC wins Plateau central senatorial election

3 aspirants petition election appeal committee over Ondo APC primary

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and former member of the Plateau State House of Assembly, Diket Plang, as winner of the Plateau Central Senatorial election.

INEC Returning Officer, Jima Lar, announced the result on Saturday in Pankshin LGA, the headquarters of the Plateau Central Senatorial zone after the review of the February 25 National Assembly elections.

Read also: Anambra supplementary election: Vote buying, massive deployment of thugs in Ogbaru

Lar said that Plang scored a total 131,129 votes to emerge the winner of the election, adding that Yohanna Gotom of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came second with 127,022 votes, while Garba Pwul of the Labour Party came third with 36,510 votes.

He said that Plang having scored the highest number of votes at the election and having satisfied the requirements of the law was declared the winner of the Plateau Central Senatorial zone election.