• Tuesday, July 16, 2024
businessday logo


LGBTQ clause in Samoa Agreement not binding on Nigeria – Mohammed Idris

FG steps down Works Ministry’s memos as amendment begins on BPP Act

The federal government of Nigeria has said the same sex marriage clause in the Samoa Agreement is not binding on Nigeria as the country already made a public declaration that any part of the agreement inconsistent with its laws will be invalid.

“Nigeria’s endorsement was accompanied by a Statement of Declaration, dated June 26, 2024, clarifying its understanding and context of the Agreement within its jurisdiction to the effect that any provision that is inconsistent with the laws of Nigeria shall be invalid. It is instructive to note that there is an existing legislation against same sex relationship in Nigeria enacted in 2014,” Mohammed Idris, the minister of information and national orientation said in a statement Thursday.

Idris said the agreement was signed in the interest of the country after extensive reviews and consultations by the Interministerial Committee, convened by the Federal Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning

“On 28 June 2024, Nigeria signed the Samoa Agreement at the Organisation of African, Caribbean, and Pacific States (OACPS) Secretariat in Brussels, Belgium. The partnership agreement is between the EU and its Member States, on one hand, and the members of the OACPS on the other,” he said in the statement.

Read also: Strings attached to $150bn Samoa deal stir outcry in Nigeria
He explained that negotiations on the agreement started in 2018, on the sidelines of the 73rd United Nations General Assembly and the agreement was eventually signed in Apia, Samoa on the November 15, 2018 by all 27 EU Member states and 47 of the 79 OACPS Member states.

“The Samoa Agreement is nothing but a vital legal framework for cooperation between the OACPS and the European Union, to promote sustainable development, fight climate change and its effects, generate investment opportunities, and foster collaboration among OACPS Member States at the international stage,” the minister said in the statement.

The agreement has 103 articles comprising a common foundational compact and three regional protocols, namely: Africa –EU; Caribbean-EU, and Pacific-EU Regional Protocols with each regional protocol addressing the peculiar issues of the regions.

Read also: Controversy as Nigeria allegedly signs $150 billion Samoa Deal with clause to promote LGBTQ

The African Regional Protocol consists of two parts. The first is the Framework for Cooperation, while the second deals with Areas of Cooperation, containing Inclusive and Sustainable Economic Growth and Development; Human and Social Development; Environment, Natural Resources Management, and Climate Change; Peace and Security; Human Rights, Democracy and Governance; and Migration and Mobility.

Nigeria signed the Agreement on Friday, June 28, 2024. This was done after the extensive reviews and consultations by the Interministerial Committee, convened by the Federal Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning (FMBEP) in collaboration with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) and Federal Ministry of Justice (FMOJ). It was ensured that none of the 103 Articles and Provisions of the Agreement contravenes the 1999 Constitution as amended or laws of Nigeria, and other extant Laws.

Read also: Nigeria denies ‘Samoa Agreement’ signing amid LGBTQ worries

“It is necessary to assure Nigerians that the President Bola Tinubu Administration, being a rule-based government will not enter into any international agreement that will be detrimental to the interest of the country and its citizens. In negotiating the Agreement, our officials strictly followed the mandates exchanged in 2018 between the EU and the OACPS for the process,” the minister said.