• Thursday, June 13, 2024
businessday logo


Arsenal to sack 22 players ahead of new Premier League season

Arsenal (1)

Arsenal has announced that 22 players from their men’s, women’s, and academy teams will leave the club at the end of the month when their contracts expire as the Gunners prepare for 2024/25 Premier League season.

After narrowly missing out on the Premier League title this season and finishing as runners-up to Manchester City for the second consecutive year, Arsenal is making significant changes to its squad.

“Ahead of the official Premier League announcement of all men’s players who will be out of contract at their current clubs on June 30, we are taking this opportunity to thank those players leaving us at the end of the month,” reads a statement from Arsenal.

The club is parting ways with the following men’s players and scholars, in addition to three previously announced departing women’s players.

Mikel Arteta’s side ended the 2023/24 campaign two points behind Manchester City, missing out on silverware. Determined to close that gap next season,

Arteta aims to strengthen the squad during the summer transfer window.
Consequently, the club has decided to release several first-team players whose contracts expire on June 30.

Portuguese defender Cedric Soares and midfielder Mohamed Elneny are among the players leaving this summer. The Egyptian midfielder is a favourite player among Arsenal supporters, making 161 appearances over eight years after joining from Basel.

Also, highly-rated goalkeeper Arthur Okonkwo, who spent the season on loan at Wrexham, will depart.

The following academy players have been released: Ovie Ejeheri, Hubert Graczyk, James Hillson, Taylor Foran, Alex Kirk, Henry Jeffcott, James Lannin-Sweet, Mauro Bandeira, Catalin Cirjan, Kido Taylor-Hart, Tyreece John-Jules, and Henry Davies.

Additionally, the scholar players Omari Benjamin, Luis Brown, Noah Cooper, and Kamarni Ryan will also be leaving the club.