• Wednesday, April 17, 2024
businessday logo


INEC halts rerun elections in 3 states due to disruptions, kidnappings of officials

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has suspended ongoing rerun elections in specific constituencies in Enugu, Kano, and Akwa Ibom States due to disruptions, irregularities, and abduction of officials.

The affected areas include Enugu South 1 State Constituency in Enugu State, Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency in Akwa Ibom State, and Kunchi/Tsanyawa State Constituency in Kano State.

INEC announced this decision in a statement signed by its national commissioner & chairman, information and voter education committee, Sam Olumekun on Saturday.
The suspension follows INEC’s earlier reports of thuggery and hijacking of electoral materials in these states.

In Enugu South 1 Constituency, elections were suspended in all eight Polling Units where original result sheets were unavailable for inspection by voters before polls commenced.
In Akwa Ibom State, elections were halted in two Polling Units (Village Hall, EdemUrua 003 in Ini LGA and Village Hall Mbiabong Ikot Udo 003 in Ikono LGA) due to the carting away of election materials by hoodlums.
Similarly, in Kunchi/Tsanyawa State Constituency, elections were suspended in all ten Polling Units in Kunchi LGA due to invasion, vandalization, and disruption by thugs.

INEC stated that its decision aligns with the provisions of Section 24(3) of the Electoral Act, 2022. Further necessary measures for the affected constituencies will be announced after Monday’s Commission meeting.

INEC has invited security agencies to investigate the incidents, pledging to interrogate any breaches involving its officials thoroughly.
INEC is conducting bye and re-run elections in 80 Local Government Areas (LGAs) across 26 federation states.

These elections aim to fill vacancies in not less than three senatorial districts, 17 federal and 28 state constituencies spread across 80 local government areas.