Nigeria's leading finance and market intelligence news report.

Update: Edo Poll: With 11 LGAs in his pocket, Obaseki coasts to victory

The Edo State governor and People’s Democratic Party (PDP) governorship candidate in Saturday’s election in the state, Godwin Obaseki, has maintained a lead in 11 local government areas out of the 16 LGAs results so far announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The result so far collated at INEC’s collation centre in Benin City, the state capital, showed that Obaseki is leading his closest rival, Osagie Ize-iyamu of the All Progressives Congress.

Of the 16 LGAs announced, the APC has won five – Owan East, Etsako West (where Adams Oshiomhole, a former governor of the state, hails from), Etsako Central, Akoko-Edo, and Etsako East LGAs.

As of the time of filing this report, PDP has won 11 LGAs, which include Igueben, Esan Central, Esan North-East, Ikpoba-Okha, Uhunmwonde, Egor, Owan West, Esan South-East, Ovia North-East, Oredo, and Esan West.

Edo State has a total of 18 local government areas. With results from 16 LGAs already collated, only two local government areas are being awaited before the final results are announced and a winner declared.


Whatsapp mobile

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.