• Sunday, April 14, 2024
businessday logo


Senate swears in 3 new senators

The Senate has sworn in the three senators who recently won by-elections in their respective senatorial districts. They took their oath of office on Tuesday during a session presided over by Godswill Akpabio, the Senate president.

Read also: Tinubu asks Senate to confirm five directors of CBN board

They include Pam Mwadkon (Plateau North) of the Action Democratic Party (ADP); Anthony Ani (Ebonyi South), of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and Mustapha Musa (Yobe East), also of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Chinedu Akubueze, the clerk of the Senate, administered the oath of office. Afterwards, the senators had handshakes with Akpabio, who handed them copies of the Senate standing rules before they were led to their seats by a sergeant at arms.

The new senators won by-elections and re-run conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on February 3. The by-elections were conducted in Yobe East and Ebonyi South while the re-run was held in Plateau North. Dachungyang replaced the former minority leader, Simon Mwadkwon, a member of the PDP, who was sacked by the Appeal Court last November.

Read also: Insecurity: Senate in closed-door meeting with security chiefs, finance minister

Ani, a member of the APC replaced the minister of works, David Umahi, who resigned from the upper chamber after he was appointed as a minister, while Mustapha, a member of the APC replaced Ibrahim Geidam, the minister of police affairs, who also resigned after he was appointed as a minister.