• Saturday, July 13, 2024
businessday logo


Schengen visa fees increase 12% globally starting June 11

Schengen visa fees increase 12% globally starting June 11th

On May 22, 2024, the European Commission decided to implement a global increase in Schengen visa fees, effective from June 11, 2024. The fees will rise by 12% worldwide.

Slovenia’s Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs confirmed this news, stating, “The fee for adult applicants will increase from €80 to €90. Additionally, the fee for children aged six to twelve will rise from €40 to €45.”

Read also: Japa: 10 common reasons for Schengen visa rejection in 2024

“For countries not cooperating with the EU on the readmission of their irregularly staying citizens, visa fees could surge to €135 or even €180.”

The Schengen Visa Code mandates that EU visa fees be reviewed every three years. The previous increase occurred in February 2020, raising the fees from €60 to €80.

A Schengen visa is a travel permit that enables non-EU citizens to visit Schengen countries for up to 90 days within 180 days.

Read also: Top 10 countries with the highest Schengen visa rejection rates

The Schengen area includes 29 European countries, 25 of which are EU member states. These countries are Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland, and Sweden.

Additionally, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland are also part of the Schengen area.