• Sunday, July 14, 2024
businessday logo


EFCC nabs 11 for alleged illegal mining in Kwara

EFCC nabs 11 for alleged illegal mining in Kwara

Operatives of the Illorin Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) have arrested 11 individuals and seized eight truckloads of suspected illicit minerals, in an operation against illegal mining in Kwara State.

The EFCC announced the arrests on their X handle on Friday.

The suspects were apprehended while transporting various solid minerals, including marble stone, white powder, lithium, and lepidolite, to an undisclosed destination.

Read also: Activists protest against misuse of EFCC for political agenda

The EFCC identified the suspects as Ibrahim Gambo, Hakeem Saka, Ahmad Muktar, Sulaiman Ibrahim, Ibrahim Muhammad, Jamiu Mustapha, Rabiu Musa, Aisha Muham, Abdulwasiu Hannafi, Qudus Olalere, and Babatunde Hakeem.

They were detained at multiple locations in Ogbomosho, Oyo State, based on credible intelligence.

The EFCC stated, “The suspects were arrested while conveying assorted solid minerals suspected to be marble stone, white powder, lithium, and lepidolite to undisclosed destinations without lawful authority.”

The agency also noted that the suspects will face court proceedings once the ongoing investigations are completed.