• Monday, July 15, 2024
businessday logo


CEOs, 33 companies win big at the Nigerian Business Leadership Awards


No fewer than 33 companies and eight chief executive officers who have demonstrated excellence in the midst of odds in the year 2020 were recognised at the Nigerian Business Leadership Awards hosted by BusinessDay Media Limited on Saturday, December 12.

The BusinessDay Nigerian Business Leadership Awards recognise remarkable business leaders and organisations in Nigeria for their sustained commitment to excellence in enterprise.

At the awards and gala dinner which took place at the Lagos Continental Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos, the Nigerian Business Leadership Awards were grouped in two categories: Global Awards and Sectoral Awards.

The criteria for vetting was based on a balanced scorecard that assigns weighted averages to leadership, innovation, market share, process improvement, financial performance, employee job satisfaction, social and environmental focus, and compliance with extant regulatory requirements.

In the global award category, Uju Ifejika, chairman/CEO, Brittania-U Nigeria Ltd, Stella Okoli, founder/CEO, Emzor Pharmaceuticals Industries Ltd, and Ibrahim Aliyu, chairman, Urban Shelter Ltd, won the Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Read also: FITC wins BIZZ, IBX Global Awards for business excellence, strategic leadership

Pat McMichael, managing director/CEO, Eat’N’Go Nigeria Ltd, won the Best CEO in customer engagement, loyalty and service award, while the Most Admired CEO of the Year went to Allen Onyema, chairman Air Peace.

Most innovative CEO of the year went to Teni Adesanya, chairman/CEO, Oxford Group, while Jay Chiekezie, CEO of Tremendoc, won the Outstanding Young Entrepreneur of the Year award.

Taiwo Afolabi, chairman, Sifax Group, also won the Corporate Board Leader of the Year award.

In the Sectoral award category, the winners include Toyota Nigeria Ltd (Automobile Brand of the Year award), Indorama Eleme Fertilizer& Chemicals Ltd(Agribusiness Company of the Year Award), Essenza Nigeria (Luxury retailer of the year award),Eat’N’Go Nigeria Ltd (Quick Service Restaurant company of the year Award), and Octo5 Holdings Ltd (Home ownership solutions company of the year).

Dradrock Real Estate Ltd won Affordable real estate company of the year award, Foodco Ltd won Retail brand of the year award, Verifyme won Nigeria Technology Solutions company of the year award, Pan African Towers won Telecoms Infrastructure company of the year award, and Rainoil Limited won Downstream company of the year award.

Other winners include Waltersmith Petroman Oil Limited (Upstream company of the year award), Media Fuse Dentsu Aegis Network (Media Agency of the year award), Mastercard Nigeria (Global Payments company of the year award), and Truthware Solutions Limited (Enterprise solutions).

GIG Motors won the Land Transport company of the year award, Urban Shelter (Residential Developer of the Year Award), Interbau Construction Limited (Indigenous construction company of the year award), Western Lotto Nigeria limited (Gaming company of the year award), and PZ Wilmar (Food processing company of the year award), Systemspecs Nigeria Limited (Payments Technology company of the year award), and Transcorp Power (Power company of the year award).

Titan of enterprise award went to Nigerian Breweries plc, Fintrak Software Company Limited (Fintech of the year award) and Green Key Facility Management Company (Technology Innovation in facilities management)

Principal facilities management also won an award for emerging facilities management company of the year, Willco Property Management (Excellence in customer service award), Green Facilities Limited (Emerging Total facilities management service provider of the year), Eliezer Workplace Management Ltd(Leadership in sustainability &Environmental impact Award) Global Property& facilities International ltd (Overall Excellence in facilities management), Provast Ltd (Total facilities management service provider of the year), Air Peace (Aviation company of the year), and TVC News (TV station of the year).