• Saturday, March 02, 2024
businessday logo


10th NASS: Management, NILDS fix induction of new lawmakers-elect for May 7-20

The Management of the National Assembly, in conjunction with the National Institute for Legislative and Democratic studies (NILDS) has fixed the induction programme for members-elect for the 10th Assembly between May 7 and 20.

The Secretary, Research & Information, and Chairman, Sub-Committee on Media and Publicity for the induction, Ali Barde Umoru disclosed this in statement on Thursday.

According to him, the objective of the Induction/Inauguration exercise is to expose Members-Elect to the functions of the National Assembly, its Practices and Procedures as well as the services available to them.

Umoru said the induction programme, which will be held in two batches, is scheduled to commence from the 7th to 13th of May 7 to 13 with Batch ‘A’ while Batch ‘B’ will hold from May 14 to May 20.

The statement reads: “Following the conclusion of the Presidential and National Assembly elections, and the formal release of the authentic list of Senators and Honourable Members-elect by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the Management of the National Assembly, in conjunction with the National Institute for Legislative and Democratic studies (NILDS) is now fully prepared for the induction of the Members- Elect of the 10th Assembly ahead of the inauguration in June 2023.

“As part of the efforts to ensure a very successful Induction/ Inauguration exercise, the Management led by the Clerk to the National Assembly (CNA), Alh.Sani Magaji Tambawal has constituted a Central Planning Committee (CPC) made up of all the Secretaries in the National Assembly Service.

“Membership was also drawn from the National Assembly Service Commission (NASC) and the National Institute for Legislative and Democratic Studies (NILDS).
The CPC, which is at the helm of the planning and implementation of the induction programme as well as the formal inauguration of the 10th Assembly, has the Deputy Clerk to the National Assembly (DCNA), Barrister Kamoru Ogunlana as Chairman.

Read also: Why the national assembly race matters

“The CPC is divided into eleven (11) specialized sub-committees to enhance effectiveness, efficiency, monitoring and coordination.
The Sub-committees include Programme Planning, Finance, Protocol and Ceremonials, Records and Documentation, Media and Publicity, Transport and Logistics, as well as Venue and Accommodation. Others are Security and Accreditation, Health and Medical Services, Civil Society Organisations/Development Partners and the Rapporteurs Team.

“The Sub-committees, which report at weekly intervals to the CPC have since swung into action, holding strategy sessions and perfecting plans for a successful induction exercise. In fact, the Sub-committees are presently crossing the T’s and dotting the I’s and rearing to go.

“It would be recalled that during the Inauguration of the CPC, the CNA Alhaji Tambawal who promised to deliver seamless Induction and Inauguration programmes, charged the members to put in their best and work as a united team towards the achievement of the desired objectives.”