• Thursday, July 18, 2024
businessday logo


Minister approves reappointment of Abuja Tax Appeal Tribunal members


Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, the minister of finance and coordinating minister for the economy, has approved the reappointment of the acting chairman and commissioners of the Abuja Tax Appeal Tribunal (TAT).

Aliyu Saka, the secretary, Abuja TAT, disclosed this in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Wednesday in Abuja.

The reappointed members of the tribunal include Nnamdi Ibegbu (SAN), acting chairman, Jude Rex-Ogbuku, Abbus Gumel and Zulaiha Yusuf Aboki.

Saka said that the tribunal members were reappointed for second tenure of three years after the completion of their first term in February this year.

“The first tenure of the commissioners came to an end in February in accordance with the provision of paragraph four of the fifth schedule of the FIRS establishment Act 2007.

“Sequel to this development the court will on June 27, resume sitting after three months of suspension of session,” the secretary said.

He explained that the tribunal would resume session with two cases of Oando Plc versus Federal Inland Revenue Service and British America Marketing Nigeria Ltd., against FIRS.

Saka said that the subsequent sitting would feature cases of Orchid Nigeria Ltd., versus Nigerian Customs Service and FIRS.