• Sunday, May 26, 2024
businessday logo


2024 Olympics qualifiers: NFF names Super Falcons squad for Cameroon cracker

2024 Olympics Qualifiers: Nigeria name Super Falcons squad for Cameroon cracker

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has invited 21 Super Falcons players for the 2024 Olympics third qualifying round fixture against Cameroon.

Among the Super Falcons players, invited are Rasheedat Ajibade, goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, six-time African Player of the Year Asisat Oshoala and Esther Okoronkwo.

This fixture is the third round of the African qualifying series and the penultimate round of the series before the continent’s flag-bearers to the 2024 Olympics are known ahead of the Games in five months.

Goalkeeper Tochukwu Oluehi, defenders Osinachi Ohale and Oluwatosin Demehin, midfielders Deborah Abiodun and Christy Ucheibe, and forwards Toni Payne, Uchenna Kanu and Omorinsola Babajide are also called.

Read also: CAF Awards 2023: Super Falcons goalie Nnadozie wins women’s goalkeeper award

Ashleigh Plumptre returns to the team after the FIFA Women’s World Cup finals in Australia last summer.

The Super Eagles, nine-time African champions will face Cameroon in the first leg at the Stade de la Reunification in Douala, Cameroon, on Friday, February 23, with Ugandan official Shamirah Nabadda as referee.

Her compatriots Lydia Nantabo, Jane Mutonyi and Diana Murungi will serve as assistant referee 1, assistant referee 2 and fourth official respectively. Khadija Rezzag from Morocco will be the referee assessor while Lukusa Kanjinga from the Democratic Republic of Congo will be the commissioner.

The second leg match will place at the MKO Abiola National Stadium, Abuja on Monday, February 26.

Read also: Super Falcons eliminate Cape Verde to book 2024 WAFCON ticket

List of Invited Players:

Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris -FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Linda Jiwuaku (Bayelsa Queens)

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico); Ashleigh Plumptre (Ittihad Ladies, Saudi Arabia); Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies); Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France)

Midfielders: Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA); Halimatu Ayinde (FC Rosengard, Sweden); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Jennifer Echegini (Juventus Ladies, Italy); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain)

Forwards: Omorinsola Babajide (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Esther Okoronkwo (Henan FC, China); Ifeoma Onumonu (SLC Utah, USA); Asisat Oshoala (Bay FC, Spain); Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA); Gift Monday (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain)