Nigeria's leading finance and market intelligence news report.

SGF, others flagg off preparations for Buhari’s inauguration

Muhammadu Buhari

The preparations for inauguration of President Muhammadu Buhari commenced Thursday with inauguration of the committee that will handle the May 29th inaugurations of Mr. President for the 2nd term in office.

The inauguration of the inter-ministerial Presidential committee on Thursday by Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, flagged off the commencement of the activities for the May 29th event

The SGF, while inaugurating the committee at the SGF conference room, reminded about the importance of the forthcoming event and charged members to deploy their wealth of experience to ensuring that the event is successful.

“ Let me remind all members of the importance of this assignment and that no stone should be left unturned to ensure that this 2019 Presidential Inauguration Committee delivers on its mandate. We must therefore deploy our wealth of experience and show unwavering commitment to this exercise”, the SGF stated.

President Buhari was recently declared the President elect after defeating his main rival and Peoples Democratic Party PDP Presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar

Mustapha recalled how Buhari government had since 2015 committed itself to working hard to achieve sustainable economic growth, as well as a secure and corruption free nation.
“preparatory to the inauguration of the new Administration, Mr. President approved the constitution of this Presidential Inter-Ministerial Inauguration Committee (PIC-2019) to plan, organize and execute all approved programmes for the series of activities that would be undertaken”.

The SGF himself is serving as chairman of the committee, other members of the committee which includes, Chief of Staff to the President, Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Minister of Budget and National Planning, Minister of Finance, Minister of Power, Works & Housing,

Other members of the Committee include the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Minister of Transportation, Minister of Agriculture & Rural Development, Minister of Water Resources,

The committee also has the Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria, National Security Adviser, Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Affairs Office and Deputy Chief of Staff to the President who will serve as secretary, respectively.

The Terms of Reference of the committee includes “to plan, organize and execute all approved activities for the 2019 Presidential Inauguration; Co-opt any organization(s)/person(s) relevant towards the successful execution of the programme; document for posterity, all planned activities for the Inauguration; and, carry out any other assignment as may be required towards the successful implementation of the programme.

“Distinguished Members of the Presidential Inauguration Committee, in the course of the implementation of this assignment, several sub-committees to be headed by Ministers will be constituted.

“For inclusiveness however, other members would be drawn from, not just the MDAs, but also from the All Progress Congress (our Party), the Presidential Campaign Council, the Buhari Support Organisation as well as Women and Youth Campaign Council. The mandate of these sub-committees will be clearly spelt out to reflect the purpose for which they have been constituted. Ahead of such constitution, I wish to underscore the need for collaboration and synergy amongst sub-committees while planning and executing the approved programmes.


Tony Ailemen, Abuja 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.