• Thursday, July 18, 2024
businessday logo


Ondo deputy speaker, Ogundeji, impeached as Aderoboye takes over

‘We lied that snake fell off roof to get Akeredolu to renovate assembly complex’

The Ondo State House of Assembly has impeached the deputy speaker, Iroju Ogundeji over alleged gross misconduct, which the House said had brought disrepute to it.

At the House’s plenary on Tuesday, Ogundeji, who is representing Odigbo Constituency II, was impeached following the House’s Resolutions led by the speaker, Bamidele Oleyelogun.

Recall that the Assembly had earlier suspended four lawmakers including the Deputy Speaker, Ogundeji; the only woman in the House, Favour Tomomowo; the only Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) member in the Assembly, Tomide Akinribido; and Wale Williams over their refusal to sign impeachment notice against the embattled Deputy Governor, Agboola Ajayi.

But the Court of Appeal sitting in Akure, dismissed the stay of execution suit filed by the State House of Assembly against the judgment of the High Court reinstating suspended members of the State Assembly.

Justice Folayemi Omoleye, who had last Wednesday queried the appellants for bringing a frivolous suit, directed the Ondo State House of Assembly which was represented by Cyril Akinrinsola, permanent secretary of the Ministry of Justice and Solicitor-general of Ondo State, to as a matter of urgency, allow the suspended members to resume their legislative functions without any hindrance.

READ ALSO: Igbomina communities must unite for development – Monarch

But, Businessday gathered that despite the Court order which negated the suspension of the affected lawmakers and returned them to the floors of the House of Assembly, the House restrategised by removing the principal officers among the embattled lawmakers with 20 out of 26-member House of Assembly.

However, Samuel Aderoboye, representing Odigbo Constituency 2 has taken takeover as the new deputy speaker of the House.

Also, Tomide Akinribido was removed as the minority leader and replaced by Festus Akingbaso while Oluwole Ogunmolasuyi, representing Owo constituency I, was appointed as the new majority leader following the reconstitution of the House.

Taofeek Oladele is now the new Chief Whip in replacement of Adeyemi Olayemi.