• Sunday, March 03, 2024
businessday logo


CUPP inaugurates 17-man steering committee

CUPP inaugurates 17-man steering committee
National Chairman of the Reformed All Progressives Congress (R-APC), Buba Galadima, a chieftain of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Olagunsoye Oyinlola and 15 others are among members of the steering committee of the Coalition of United Political Parties (CUPP).
The committee which was inaugurated on Thursday in Abuja also has a chieftain of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Tunde Adeniran, National Chairman of Labour Party (LP), Abdulkadir Abdulsalam.
Others are: Ben Obi, Peter Ameh, Sam Eke, Jeff Ojinka, Igwe Emeka Benjamin
Hon. Razak Eyiowuawi, Odion Okpebholo, Abduljalili Tafawa Balewa, Tanko Yunusa, Olusegun Peters, Georgina Danagogo, Ikenga Ugochinyere and Mark Adebayo.
The 17-man committee  which was inaugurated by former Cross River State governor and Chairman of the PDP Contact and Integration Committee, Liyel Imoke, will coordinate the activities of the grand alliance.
CUPP is an alliance of 39 political parties including the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), SDP, LP, National Conscience Party (NCP) among others.
The event also saw the unveiling of the CUPP national secretariat located at  13 Thaba Tseka street, Wuse 2 in the nation’s capital. In his speech, Galadima predicted that President Muhammadu Buhari will not be reelected in 2019, even as he assured that security chiefs who abuse their offices will face the wrath of the law when the coalition takes over power in 2019. 
In June, the 39 political parties signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to present a single presidential candidate in the 2019 presidential election.