• Thursday, June 20, 2024
businessday logo


9 Ondo Assembly members reject removal of Deputy Speaker, Ogundeji

9 Ondo Assembly members reject removal of Deputy Speaker, Ogundeji

Nine out of the twenty-six members of the Ondo State House of Assembly have rejected the purported removal of Iroju Ogundeji as the Deputy Speaker of the state House of Assembly.

The Assembly members, who are loyal to the embattled deputy governor, Agboola Ajayi are once against purported removal of Ogundeji as deputy speaker of Ondo State House of Assembly.

The nine lawmakers are Rasheed Elegbeleye, Suleiman Jamiu Maito, Adewale Williams-adewinle, Festus Akingbaso, Ogundeji Iroju, Favour Tomomowo Tomide Akinribido, Success Tuhurkerijor and Samuel Edamisan.

Recall that the State House of Assembly led by the Speaker, Bamidele Oleyelogun on Tuesday impeached the deputy speaker, Iroju Ogundeji over alleged gross misconduct which the leadership of the State Assembly, said had brought the House to disrepute.

READ ALSO: Nigeria risks losing $493m fighter jet over bad runway

But, the nine lawmakers on Wednesday in a letter addressed to the speaker, described the impeachment as unlawful and did not meet the required Constitutional requirements for the impeachment of the deputy speaker.

They argued that section 92 sub-section 2C of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended requires two-third majority cum provisions of the rules and standing order of the House for the impeachment of the Speaker or his Deputy.

The nine lawmakers said, “The same provision for the removal of Speaker and Deputy is provided for in section 9 (sub-section 1-IX) of the standing order of the House. It requires two-thirds majority for their removal.

“It must be known that there was no place where sitting of the Assembly either at the plenary or parliamentary where the decision to remove Rt Hon. Iroju Ogundeji took place.

“It must be noted that the impunity reigns supreme in the Assembly were Rt Hon. Bamidele Oleyeloogun presides.”