• Wednesday, May 29, 2024
businessday logo


Kwara LG Poll: APC clears 16 chairmanship seats


The Kwara State Independent Electoral Commission (KWASIEC), has declared Chairmanship candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) winners of Saturday council elections in all16 local government councils of the state.
Usman Ajidagba, the Commission Chairman, who announced the results on Sunday night, said APC won 181 Councillorship seats while the Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP) won only eight seats.

He added that four Councillorship seats were inconclusive in Ilorin West, Moro and Edu local government areas.

READ ALSO: Ogun APC chairmanship aspirant pledges massive investment in agriculture

Ajidagba, appreciated the people of the State for their peaceful conduct and orderliness during the election, just as he lauded security operatives and journalists for their cooperation, noting that the support and efforts of the men in the media and security contributed immensely to the success of the poll.

BusinessDay reports that the announcement of the Council poll results was witnessed by different representatives of top security operatives and political parties.