• Saturday, May 18, 2024
businessday logo


Uzodinma appoints self commissioner for lands

Uzodinma appoints self commissioner for lands

…Swears in new cabinet members

Following series of alleged disappointments and dishonesty Governor Hope Uzodinma received from some of his former political appointees, especially from the Ministry of Lands, he has appointed himself the commissioner for lands.

Governor Uzodinma, who spoke to the crowd that graced the occasion of swearing in of the new cabinet, said clearly that he would be managing the Ministry of Lands in Imo State.

Read also: Uzodinma decries shady deals on land administration in Imo

According to the governor, to avert the temptation of land grabbing again which was the order of the day before he dissolved his former cabinet, he has decided to take up the Ministry of Lands himself.

Consequent on this self-appointment, he is now one of the 23 commissioners who were inaugurated and given portfolios Tuesday.

He announced the following names as commissioners with the following portfolios: Ralph Nwosu in charge of works, Declan Emelumba- Information, Public Orientation and Strategy; Chuks Chukwuemeka for Finance; Chimezie Amadi- Digital Economy and E -Governance; COC Akaolisa- Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice; Emeka Okoronkwo for Special Duties.

Uzodinma also announced the appointments of the following; Oguchienti, commissioner for Power; Mayor Emenike- Environment; Modestus Osakwe- Homeland Security; Prosper Onyiagha- Health; Anyanwu Anselem Ezechinyere for Budget and Economic Planning, and Bede Eke for Housing and Urban Development.

J.C. Nwadike takes charge of the Ministry of Education; Nkechi Ugwu for Women Affairs; Obinna Onyeocha – Sports and Youths; Jerry Egemba takes charge of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.
Egemba, a lawyer, in the dissolved cabinet, was also the Commissioner for Culture and Tourism.

Read also: Still on the menace of land encroachers

Meanwhile, Cosmas Maduba is the Commissioner for Agriculture and Natural Resources; Chika Abazu Industry- Trade and Investment; Ikenna Elezianya- Science and Technology who was in the Federal House of Representatives for Owerri Federal Constituency; Ruby Emele is the Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, a position she held in the previous cabinet.

Also, Emeka Mgbudem is for the Ministry of Petroleum; Ifeanyi Oruh for Rural Development and Governor Hope Uzodinma.