• Saturday, May 18, 2024
businessday logo


Tinubu asks Senate to confirm Cardoso, 11 others as chairman, members of MPC

Tinubu inaugurates three gas projects in Delta to grow economy

President Bola Tinubu has asked the Senate to confirm the appointment of Olayemi Cardoso, governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), as chairman of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC).

The president also asked the upper chamber to confirm four deputy governors of the bank to include; Mohammed Abdullahi, Bala Bello, Emem Usoro, and Philip Ikeazor as members of the committee.

Other members of the MPC appointed by Tinubu are Lamido Yuguda, director-general of Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC); Jibia Shehu, permanent secretary of the ministry of finance; Murtala Sabo; Uche Wogu; Maureen Agu; Mustapha Akinwumi; and Bamidele Omo.

Tinubu’s request was contained in a letter read by Senate President Godswill Akpabio during plenary on Wednesday.

The President in his letter said the request is in line with section 12 of the CBN Act (2007).

“Under the provisions of section 12 of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Act of 2007, I am pleased to present for confirmation by the Senate, the appointments of the under-listed 12 persons as chair and members of the monetary policy committee (MPC) of the CBN.

“While hoping that the request will receive the expeditious consideration of the Senate, please accept the distinguished Senate President, the assurance of my highest regards” the letter read.

Akpabio then referred the request to the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance, and other Financial Institutions for further legislative input. The committee is to report back in one week.