• Friday, December 08, 2023
businessday logo


Tinubu appoints 9 new INEC resident commissioners

President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of nine new Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for a term of five years each, subject to the confirmation of the Nigerian Senate

A statement by Ajuri Ngelale, the presidential spokesman, said the appointments were in exercise of the powers vested in the president by Section 154 (1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (1999, Amended) and Section 6 of the Electoral Act

Read also: Senate mulls unbundling INEC for efficiency, diaspora voting

The new RECs include Isah Ehimeakne (Edo), Bamidele Agbede (Ekiti ), Adamu Bello ( Gombe), Taiye Ilayasu (Kwara) and Bunmi Omoseyindemi (Lagos)

Others are Yahaya Bello (Nasarawa), Mohammed Yalwa (Niger), Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers) and Abubakar Dambo (Zamfara).