• Thursday, April 18, 2024
businessday logo


Sanwo-Olu, Mbah, Diri, others win big in New Telegraph Awards

Hardship: Sanwo-Olu appeals to Lagos residents to stay calm

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State, Peter Mbah of Enugu State, and Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe State are among the prestigious personalities who will be recognised for their outstanding achievements in 2023 at the New Telegraph Awards.

The organisers of the New Telegraph Awards, the Daily Telegraph Publishing Company Limited, have said that these awards aim to celebrate individuals and businesses that have made outstanding contributions to Nigeria’s development across various sectors.

Scheduled for Friday, February 2, 2024, at the Balmoral Event Centre, Federal Palace Hotel, Lagos, the awards ceremony seeks to inspire awardees towards greater excellence while motivating others to aspire to similar levels of distinction.

Dakuku Peterside, former Director General of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency, will chair the event.

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State leads the recipients, earning the Governor of the Year in Infrastructural Development award. Other notable governors include Peter Mbah of Enugu State for Courage in Leadership, Bala Mohammed of Bauchi State for Health, and Douye Diri of Bayelsa State for Human Capacity Development.

Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe State receives the Governor of the Year in Education, while Nasir Idris of Kebbi State is honoured for Agricultural Development. The Minister of Interior, Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo, is recognised as the Outstanding Minister of the Year, and Ebenezer Onyeagwu of Zenith Bank earns Bank CEO of the Year.

Mike Ozekhome is awarded the Legal Icon of the Year, with Chima Amadi named Social Crusader of the Year and Tayo Adiatu as Young Entrepreneur of the Year.

Other recipients include Fuad Atanda-Lawal for Outstanding Local Government Chairman of the Year, Zenith Bank for Most Sustainable Bank of the Year, and UBA as Bank of the Year. Unity Bank is recognised as the Most Friendly Bank, while Transcorp earns Conglomerate of the Year. Bayo and Bunmi Babalola Foundation are honoured as Outstanding NGO of the Year, and Airtel is named Telecoms Company of the Year.

Tantita Security Services Limited earns the Security Company of the Year title, while Innoson Vehicle Manufacturing Co. Ltd. is named Automobile Company of the Year.

The University of Ilorin is recognised as the Outstanding University of the Year, and the National Institute for Legislative and Democratic Studies earns the title of Legislative Support Institute of the Year.

The Presidential Amnesty Programme is recognised as the Innovative Government Agency of the Year, and FBN Holdings is awarded Holding Company of the Year.

Seplat Energy is named Outstanding Energy Company of the Year, ERISCO is named Indigenous Company of the Year, and Niger Delta Power Holding Company (NDPHC) is honoured as the Outstanding Transmission and Distribution Company of the Year.