SIFAX Group, Starzs Investment, SHI set for maritime award

Samsung Heavy Industries (SHI), SIFAX Group, NLNG Ship Management Limited (NSML), and Starzs Investment have been nominated for the upcoming Maritime and Offshore Award.

The award, which is designed to honour companies and individuals who have distinguished themselves in the maritime sector, is slated for September 24th in Lagos.

Commenting on the award, Femi Da-silva, chief executive officer of the OMIS, the organiser of the award, said these organisations were nominated by industry players to have displayed exemplary commitment to the progress of the sector via staff/manpower investment, community service, technology innovation, and positive impact on the environment.

He said the award would serve as an impetus for others to make sacrificial investments and impact the maritime sector.

Ify Akerele, a former director general of the Nigerian Chamber of Shipping, who is also a member of the panel of judges for the Award, expressed excitement over the growing visibility of the impact made in the maritime sector.

Read also: Manufacturers’ confidence rises despite growing economic headwinds

She said the award will inspire more commitment to best practices by firms and individuals.

Other nominated companies include Integrated Oil and Gas, Brisktrade, Comet Shipping, APM Terminals, OnnePort365, Trucks Transit Parks Limited, Lloyd’s Register, Nigerian Navy, Niger Dock, Shipside Dry Limited, Bureau Veritas, American Bureau of Shipping, BW Offshore, Diolits Marine Services, and MEDLOG Transport & Logistics.

Others are Ocean Deep Services Ltd, LTT Coastal & Marine Services Ltd, ENL Consortium, Niger Benue Transport Company Ltd, ECM Terminals, Charkin Maritime Academy, KOBO360, Peak Shipping Agency, Bricks Limited, Lead Way Assurance, AIICO General Insurance, NEM Insurance, and Allianz Nigeria Insurance.

Some eminent maritime executives nominated for the award include Adebayo Sarumi, former managing director of NPA; Emmanuel Iheanacho, former Minister of Interior; Greg Ogbeifun, chairman of Starzs Investment; Amy Jadesimi, managing director of LADOL, and other maritime professionals.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.