NIMASA boss to remain president of Institute of Transport Administration till 2022

…As Institute elects national officers

Bashir Jamoh, director general of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), would retain his seat as the national president of the Chartered Institute of Transport Administration of Nigeria (CIOTA) till another election in 2022.

This is as the Institute recently elected members of National Executives Committees and endorsed members of the Governing Council to drive its focus.

CIOTA, according to a statement by its National President, had in June 2020 set up a 5-man committee to organise a General Meeting to ratify members of the National Working Committees, Council for the Registration of Transportants (CORTRANS), Zonal Chairmen/Representatives; and to conduct elections to fill up the executive positions from November 2020, in line with the provisions of CIOTA establishment Act, 2019.

He however stated that the newly elected national executives as well as members of the Governing Council will be inaugurated at the Institute’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) which will take place at a later date.

At the election, Chinda Evans Ogbuji emerged National Secretary while Oluwaseyi Joseph Afolabi was elected as the Assistant National Secretary. Chioma Azionu became National Treasurer while Elei Green Igbogi is now the National Financial Secretary.

Other winners include Chizoba Anyika elected as National Publicity Secretary and Kenneth Ibiama emerged as National Provost. The post of the National Auditor 1 was won by Patrick Erhinure, Stella Chukwunonyelu Faleye emerged National Auditor 2 while Ijeaku Onyewuego became National Auditor 3.

The Institute ratified the nomination of Innocent Chuka Ogwude as chairman, Council for the Registration of Transportants (CORTRANS) while other members include Calistus Ibe, Samuel Odewumi, Bala Zakka, Osuala Emmanuel Nwagbara, Matthew I. Akinlabi, Taiwo Olufemi Salaam, Aluma Daniel Ogbonna (Admin), Yakubu A. Yakubu and Chinda Evans Ogbuji.

Five sectorial Development Sub-Committees covering the Maritime, Road, Aviation, Pipeline and Rail were also put in place. Members of the sub-Committee on Road comprises of Chris Asoluka, Kurahson Ben Inuwa, Babatunde O. Samuel, Okorefe Charles, Hamman Mary Madu, Tony Iju Nwabunike and Folajimi Iretolu while Samuel G. Odewumi, Taiwo O. Salaam, Seni Ogunyemi, Bako Danladi Mohammed, Dieseruvwe Stephen Kweku, Umar Iya and Ijeaku Onyewuego.

Members of the Rail Sub-Committee include Bamidele Badejo, Aliyu Mainasara, Uche Increase O., Oche Jerry, Apeh Adejoh Samuel, Abdullahi A. Bashir and Joseph O. Afolabi while the Aviation Sub-Committee is made up of Chigozie O. Amaechi, Oluropo Owolabi, Igwe N. Francis, Danjuma A. Ismaila, Onwuka C. Augustus, Uwem Ekanem and Rasheed I. Aiyelabegan.

Also, Bala Zakka, Martin Onovo and Felix E.K Nakpodia, Lawal Balarabe, Matthew Akinlabi, Udoaka Friday, and Balogun Olajide Alade are of the Pipeline Sub Committee.

Seven National Working Committees were ratified to handle Operations & Planning, Education and Training, Membership and Social Welfare, Finance and Accounts, Media and Publicity, Disciplinary and Legal Advisory.

Members of the Operations & Planning Committee include Kabir M. Murnai, Nnamdi C. Eronini, Uche O. Increase, Akujobi Celestine Chukwuemeka and Isma’ila Abdullahi Kuraye.

On Education and Training Committee, Callistus Ibe, Charles Asemine, Ajao S. Adeyemi, Maduka Ozili and Reuben O. Nwaogbe were appointed members while Prince G.O Don-Aki, Azionu A. Chioma, Hassan Abubakar, Kenneth Ibiama, and Gimba Ganiyu are in Membership and Social Welfare Committee.

The Media and Publicity Committee comprises Chizoba Anyika, Chinda Evans Ogbuji, Ubong Essen, Philip Okoronkwo and Ezinne Azunna. Oba R. I Balogun, Zebulon Ikokide, Dominic Obiajulu, Emmanuel Echigeme and Lucky Eze Onumaegbu are in the Disciplinary Committee while the Legal Advisory Committee consists of Sotonye Inyeinengi-Etomi, Osuala Emmanuel Nwagbara, Abdul Dirisu , Yakubu A. Yakubu and Iyelolu Bukola Adenike.

On the Finance and Accounts Committee are the National President, Deputy President, the National Secretary, the National Treasurer and the Financial Secretary of the Institute.

On the Zonal Representatives, the South-East Zone has Johnmak Obianife as chairman while Victor Ashinobi as vice chairman, the South-South Zone has Sotonye Inyeinengi-Etomi as chairman while Stephen K. Dieseruvwe was appointed vice-chairman.

The South West Zone has Olaseni Ogunyemi as chairman, while Taiwo Olufemi Salaam was appointed as vice-chairman. At the North Central Zone, Sunday Agwa Audu was ratified as chairman while Abubakar Bawa will serve as vice-chairman.

The North West Zone has Yakubu A. Yakubu as chairman while Umar Ahmed Ibrahim as vice chairman. At the North East Zone, Umar Iya emerged as the chairman and Ibrahim Mohammed as vice chairman.

Skip to toolbar