Dangote, Otedola, Sanusi, Ooni, other dignitaries to attend NIMASA awards


The Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) has listed Aliko Dangote, Femi Otedola, Nike Akande, and notable royal fathers including Sanusi Lamido, Emir of Kano and Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi, the Ooni of Ife among the dignitaries that will be attending this years’ NIMASA Maritime Award.

The award event, scheduled to take place on Saturday, 12th January, 2019 in Lagos, will also be graced by General Abdulsalam Abubakar (rtd), former head of state; Boss Mustapha, secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), and Rotimi Chibuike Amaechi, Minister of Transportation.

A statement signed by Isichei Osamgbi, head, Corporate Communications of NIMASA stated that the Governors of Lagos, Ogun, Enugu, Ondo, Kaduna, Kebbi and Borno states as well as ministers and other top government officials, National Assembly members and members of the diplomatic corps are also expected to be at the occasion.

The event, tagged “NIMASA Merit Awards and Corporate Dinner”, which will be hosted by the Minister of Transportation and chaired by the SGF, will also showcase an array of stakeholders in the Nigerian maritime industry, some of who will be recognised for their outstanding contributions to the realisation of the agency’s mandate of driving the sector in 2018.

The award categories include Shipping Company of the Year 2018 (Dry Cargo), Shipping Company of the Year 2018 (Wet Cargo), Maritime Education and Training Institute of the Year 2018, Manning Agent of the Year 2018, and Seafarers’ Employer of the Year 2018.

Themed “Our Journey to Excellence, it will be an evening to celebrate our core values of commitment, accountability, professionalism, integrity, teamwork, excellence, leadership, and discipline in the Agency and industry as a whole,” the statement added.

It further revealed that staff of NIMASA will be honoured for outstanding performance and an Employee of the Year will be picked from the 11 winners of the Employee of the Month awards from January to November 2018.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.