• Tuesday, May 28, 2024
businessday logo


INEC releases results in 8 states, FCT  

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released results of eight states in the presidential election. Also released is the result of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).
Listed below is the result so far released by INEC headquarters just before the chairman of INEC, Attahiru Jega, declared a break to allow other returning officers to get to the INEC headquarters:
Ogun State’s total registered voters was given as 1,709409 while the number of accredited voters was 594,975. The total result showed that APC scored 308,290 while PDP scored 207,950. Areas of Ogun where elections did not hold include Imeko Afon, and Abeokuta North.
In Ekiti, PDP scored 176,466 to win over APC which scored 120,331.
In Enugu, PDP scored a landslide with 553,003 against APC’s 14,157.
In Kogi, APC scored 264,851 while PDP scored 149,987.
In Osun, APC scored 383,603 while PDP scored 249,929. In the state, elections were cancelled in areas including Irepodun, Ife South, Ife East, Iwo, Orolu, Irewole, Boluwaduro, and Atakumosa.
In Ondo State, APC won by 299,889 against PDP’s 251,368. Registered voters in the state was 1,501,549 while accredited voters were 618,040, according to Olusola Oyewole, the returning officer for the state.
At the Federal Capital Territory with 344, 056 accredited voters, APC got 146, 399 while the PDP scored 157, 195.
In Oyo State, the returning officer, Ayobami Salami, announced that the APC won with 528,620 against PDP’s 303,376.
In Nasawara, APC lost to PDP after polling 236,838 against PDP’s 273,460.