• Saturday, December 09, 2023
businessday logo


IGP redeploys 33 police commissioners

Police arrest security personnel for robbery, car snatching

Suleiman Abba, the inspector general of police (IGP), on Tuesday, announced the redeployment of 33 commissioners of police to various commands and formations across Nigeria.

A statement by the force public relations officer, Emmanuel Ojukwu, in Abuja said the postings are in line with efforts to reposition the force, fill vacancies created and also in view of officers proceeding on course at the National Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS), Kuru, Jos as well as posting of returning senior officers from NIPSS.

He also said the redeployment, which “is in line with the determination and drive to enhance the administrative and operational effectiveness of the Nigeria police force”, takes immediate effect.

The statement indicated that Danladi Mshelbwala has been redeployed from Explosive Ordinance Disposal Unit (EOD) to Kebbi State, while Ibrahim K. Idris moves from Police Mobile Force (PMF) to Kano State; just as Musa Mohammed was transferred from NIPSS to Oyo State with Shuaibu L. Gambo redeployed from Sokoto to Counter Terrorism Unit, FHQ.

Read also: Files open new window on $182m Halliburton bribery scandal in Nigeria

Also affected are Usman Tilli Abubakar and Olufemi David Ogunbayode both from NIPSS, Jos to Jigawa and Zamfara states, respectively, while Waheed Olayikan Salau moves from Airport Command to NIPSS, Kuru, Jos, for a course.

Others are Dorothy A. Gimba formerly of NIPSS, Jos to Airport Command; while former police commissioner in Edo State, Foluso A. Adebanjo, has been transferred to NIPSS, Kuru, Jos, just as Agboola Oshodi-Glover was redeployed from ICT, FHQ, Abuja to NIPSS Kuru, Jos, as well as A.K. Shodipo, former commissioner of police in Oyo State who now heads Special Fraud Unit FHQ, Abuja.

Also affected are Idris Faruk Umar who is now CP, Intelligence; Usman Yakubu, NIPSS, Kuru, Jos; Mohammed Sani Usman, Narasawa State; Ibrahim Adamu, NIPSS, Kuru, Jos; Salisu Fagge Abdullahi, Sokoto State; Lawal Shehu, CP, Dept of Finance and Admin, FHQ Abuja and Nyats Nyehsu Jatau, Taraba State.

Others similarly redeployed include Tijani Baba, CP, Special Protection Unit, FHQ; Mohammed K. Mohammed, Bauchi State; Paul Okafor, Bayelsa State; Vanletine U. Ntomchukwu, Ogun State; Ademola Omole, deputy CMDT, Police Staff College, Jos; Joshak Habila, Abia State; Damilola Samuel Adegbuyi, Edo State; Rasheed Akintonde, CP, Interpol FHQ Abuja; Adeyemi Ogunjemilusi, Kogi State and Ishaku Barau, commandant Police Detective College, Enugu.

Others are Sam Okaula, General Investigation, FCID FHQ Abuja; Dibal Paul Yakadi, Police Mobile Force FHQ Abuja; Haruna Huzi Mshelia, commandant, Police College, Orji-River, Enugu; Usman Ali Abdullahi, CP, Railway Command; Mohammed A. Mustafa, Explosive Ordinance Disposal Unit, FHQ Abuja.