• Sunday, March 03, 2024
businessday logo


BusinessDay Publisher, Frank Aigbogun wins at the Distinguished Service to Society Awards in Manchester, U.K

The winners of the prestigious 2014 Acknowledgement of Distinguished Service to Society awards have been revealed.

The awards, sponsored by These Executive Minds (TEXEM), were announced on 4 September 2014 to an enthusiastic audience at the Manchester Business School in Manchester, U.K.

These awards are sponsored by These Executive Minds (TEXEM) as an essential part of its corporate social responsibility programme to acknowledge the vital and distinguished role that those senior executives, leaders in government, and front runners in Non-Governmental Organisations play in the advancement of the Nigerian society.

“The award winners represent the best traditions of excellence and service to the people of Nigeria,” said Nikolett Nagy, Project Manager, TEXEM.

These awards are presented as part of TEXEM’s mission to highlight the role and importance that leadership in corporate social responsibility plays in the advancement of the Nigerian society.

Mr. Alim Abubakre, Founder and CEO of TEXEM, added, “I am personally very pleased that we can acknowledge the vital and important changes that these award winners have made possible in Nigeria and their influence throughout all of Africa by their selfless dedication to the betterment of society.”

The winners of this acclaimed award are selected based on their contribution in a number of vital areas of the Nigerian society. According to Ms. Sarah Collier, a Director of TEXEM, “The selection process is difficult as there are so many high-quality nominees.”

For 2014, the award winners of the TEXEM Acknowledgement of Distinguished Service to Society Awards are:

  • Nduka Obaigbena – Award: Unparalleled contribution to media development as the President of the Newspaper Proprietors’ Association of Nigeria and through Arise TV
  • Frank Aigbogun – Award: Unparalleled Contribution to business impact in West Africa
  • Hon. Justice George Uloko (RTD) (Hon. Chief Commissioner, P.C.C.) – Award: Unparalleled contribution to social justice
  • Lady Maiden Alex- Ibru Guardan Chair – Award: Unparalleled contribution to fight against cancer
  • Professor Ibrahim Adamu Kolo, Vice Chancellor – Award: Unparalleled contribution to excellence in higher educational sector in Nigeria
  • Dr Sam Amadi – Award: Commendable contribution to ongoing regulatory reforms in power sector in Nigeria
  • Sam Amuka-Pemu – Award: Unparalleled contribution to peace and stability in Nigeria through support for the Niger-Delta Amnesty programme
  • Mrs. Ibukun Odusote – Award: Contribution to transformation of agricultural sector in Nigeria
  • Yusuf Kabir – Award: Contribution to independence of media in Africa
  • Ibrahim Shekarau – Award: Promising start to educational development in Nigeria
  • Aminu Waziri Tambuwal – Award: Contribution to the unparalleled independence of the legislative arm of government.
  • Bello Mahmud, Registrar General, Corporate Affairs Commission – Award: Unparalleled contribution to business services in the Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • His Excellency Mu’azu Babangida Aliyu Governor, Niger State- Award: Impressive contribution to rural development in Niger State
  • John Mohmo, Managing Director, Channels TV – Award: Impeccable contribution TV Broadcasting in Nigeria
  • His Excellency Governor, Osun State, Rauf Aregbesola – Award: Unparalleled contribution to infrastructure development and job creation
  • Professor Pat Utomi, Founder, CVL (Centre For Values in Leadership)Award: Unparalleled contribution to entrepreneurship
  • Professor AbdulGaniyu Ambali,  Vice Chancellor, University of Ilorin

Award: Unparalleled contribution to educational stability in Nigeria.