• Tuesday, February 27, 2024
businessday logo


AIB releases manifest of Bristow Helicopter crash

Bristow helicopters

The Accident Investigation Bureau  (AIB), yesterday, released the passenger manifest of the helicopter that crashed into the Lagos lagoon last Wednesday.

According to AIB, names of the passengers and the crew on the manifest of the ill-fated flight include: Ita Ekpeyong; Joshua Emekeme; Dolu Ebiejuara; Onoriode Onojete; Chukwuma Erise; Solomon Udeh; Chidi Ukwunta, and Iniala Opaimi.

Others are Chris Abua; Chukwudi Onah; Joseph Wyatt (Captain) and Peter Kayode Bello (co-pilot)

The Sikosky S76 C+ helicopter crashed into the lagoon in Oworonshoki area of Lagos on Wednesday, last week, shortly before landing at Murtala Muhammed Airport.

The helicopter marked 5N-BGD and operated by Bristow Helicopters departed SEDCO oil platform offshore en-route Lagos airport.

Six of the passengers died in the crash while six others are currently receiving treatment in the hospital.

The Flight Data Recorder (FDR) contains data generated from different parts of the aircraft including the engines and the avionics, while the Cockpit Voice Recorder will unveil conversations within the cockpit and between the pilots and the Control Tower.

According to AIB, investigation has extended to retrieving documents and other materials from Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) Nigerian Airspace Management Agency (NAMA), and the airline operator.


Sade Williams