• Thursday, December 07, 2023
businessday logo


4 Ogun towns to benefit from solar-powered boreholes


No fewer than four communities across Ogun State have benefited from the solar powered borehole water scheme of Ogun State’s Ministry of Rural Development.

The communities are Fakale in Sagamu Local Government, Ikereku-Olodi in Abeokuta North Local Governmnet, Jabata–Iwoye in Imeko-Afon Local Governmnet and Eyin-Osun in Ijebu-East Local Government area of the state.

Falilu Sabitu, the commissioner in charge of the ministry, assured that the solar powered borehole water scheme was a step being taken to provide potable drinking water for rural dwellers, promising that it would soon go round all the 20 local government areas of the state.

Sabitu pointed out that government had already given approval that such solar powered boreholes should be provided in six other communities in the state, advising that residents should imbibe the maintenance culture so that the boreholes could serve them for long.

“Work will soon begin in other local governments, but we want to appeal to the people to imbibe the maintenance culture so that the project will not be tampered with,” Sabitu said.

Speaking on other plans of his ministry, Sabitu disclosed that work would soon commence on construction of rural roads and rural electrification, saying Ode Omi in Waterside Local Government would be the take-off point.

Reacting to the development, Muraino Rufai and Abdul Rasheed Abubakar Oyetunji, the Baales of Ikereku-Olodi and Jabata-Iwoye respectively, lauded the state for extending the good gesture to their respective communities, pointing out that it was an indication that the State Government was desirous of developing all parts of the state.