• Wednesday, May 22, 2024
businessday logo


KEDCO enters into partnership aimed at increasing in-network generation of electricity by 40MW 

Jigawa partners Kano DisCo for stable renewable power
The Kano Electricity Distribution Company (KEDCO) has into a partnership with some leading energy supply companies to develop embedded power generation and Interconnected and Isolated mini-grids with a primary focus on growing electricity supply by an additional 40 megawatt in its operational area.
The partnership which the company has entered into will also entail growing renewable energy networks in the three northwest states of Kano, Katsina, and Jigawa, substantially.
The information was made available Thursday to BusinessDay, in a press statement signed by Sani Bala Sani, head of corporate communications of the company.
The statement disclosed that the new partnership agreements entered into by the management of the company were aimed at meeting the growing electricity demand by consumers in the franchise area.
The statement further disclosed that the company was also actively partnering with the State Governments of Kano, Katsina and Jigawa to fast-track some of the projects they embarked upon towards incremental supply of electricity in their respective, states.
“In February 2024, KEDCO launched an RFQ process to qualify competent and experienced Energy Service Companies (ESCOs) to partner in developing up t0MW in supply projects within the franchise area.
“These ESCOs will partner with KEDCO in conceptualising, designing, and developing projects focusing on Solar Energy, Battery Storage and Gas-Based Generation.
“After the evaluation, a total of 31 companies have been approved by KEDCO as ESCOs and were grouped under Tier 1 and Tier 2 categories depending on the capacities of the plant/project to be developed.
“Under the Tier 1 category, the ESCOs are expected to develop sites with generating capacity of 1MW or above, a total of 15 ESCOs were qualified: ESCOs qualified under this category are Axxela Limited, Elektron Energy, Daystar Power Limited, Westa Solar, Bagaja Renewables (Bagaja-WeiSky SPV), Paras Energy, 1634 Energy, Preserve Energy, Off-Grid Electric, Spul-Sub 3 Limited, Strom Infrastructure Limited, Husk Power Limited, Havenhill Synergy Limited, Grid Crux and Hamilton Energy.
“The remaining 16 Companies were also qualified for a Tier 2 category to develop projects with a capacity of 1MW or less. ESCOs qualified under this category are:
“Stata Energy, Prado Power, Arnergy Solar, Sabrud Consortium, Bajis, TetraCore, Vertmance, Energiv Energy, Rensource Distributed, Power China Huodong, Royal Power, Power Generation, Neigh Energy, Junaid Synergy, Pam Africa, and Trust Synergy”, the statement explained.
The statement added that the company’s new core investor and board are working with the State Governments to accelerate outcomes for citizens within the franchise states, stressing that the company was also striving to be the leading renewable energy Electricity Distribution Company in Africa through innovative partnerships and strategic focus.