• Saturday, June 22, 2024
businessday logo


Oando PLC appoints female non-executive directors

Oando says to file 2022 audited financials on August 31, 2023

Oando PLC (Oando) appoints two females as its Non-Executive Directors after the resignation of two of its prominent directors on December 23, 2021.

A statement sent to the Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE) on Thursday, December 24, 2021, stated that Oando has appointed Ronke Sokefun and Nana Fatima Mede as Independent Non-Executive Directors effective December 23, 2021, after the resignation of Bukar Goni Aji and Muntari Zubairu on the same date.

Ronke Sokefun, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC), joined Oando Group in 2002 where she served as the Chief Legal Officer till 2011.

Recall that she also served in the public sphere holding diverse portfolios as a commissioner in Ogun state.

Read also: Ikoyi Club, Julius Berger sign deal to re-irrigate golf course

Meanwhile, her counterpart, Nana Fatima Mede, who is currently the Technical Consultant to the Minister of State (Budget and National Planning), has had the majority of her career span in the public sector before this appointment.

In 2015, she was sworn in as a Federal Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Environment where she coordinated the formulation of the Nigerian Intended Nationally Determined Contribution (INDC) document on Green-House Gas (GHG) about Climate Change – a document which was presented by the President at the Conference of Party (COP 21) in Paris, 2015.

However, Goni, one of the resignees had served as a Non-Executive Director of the Company since 2018 and was the Chairman of the Risk, Environmental, Health, Safety, Security and Quality Committee as well as a member of the Governance and Nominations Committee of the Board.

Meanwhile, Zubairu, an Executive Director of the Company until his resignation was the Group Chief Corporate Services & Operations Officer and a member of the Risk, Environmental, Health, Safety, Security and Quality Committee of the Board.

According to the release signed by Ayotola jagun, Chief Compliance Officer & Company Secretary, “the Board and Management of the Company appreciate Goni and Zubairu for their positive contributions and meritorious service in the last few years as Directors of the Company.”