South West governors officially launch Amotekun in Ibadan

South West governors on Thursday officially launched a security   outfi, code-named in Ibadan, the Oyo state capital.
Rotimi Akeredolu, who is the Chairman, Western Nigeria Governors’ Forum, while  Governors Seyi Makinde of Oyo, Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti, Deputy Governor of Ogun, Noimat Salako-Oyedele, Deputy Governor of Osun, Benedict Gboyega Alabi, the Ooni of Ife, Oba Enitan Adeyeye Ogunwusi, Deji Osinbogun and  Banjo Akintoye, , a Professor, were among dignitaries that graced the occasion.

The six governors, Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo) Seyi Makinde (Oyo), Gboyega Oyetola (Osun), Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos) and Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti), had last year agreed to establish Amotekun, aimed at strengthened the security situation in the region.
Each of the six States has procured 20 Pick-up Vans equipped with communication gadgets and one hundred motorcycles for the take-off of the Security Network.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.