• Wednesday, July 24, 2024
businessday logo


Governor Ishaku swears in 23 commissioners after six months in office

Governor Ishaku sacks Chief press secretary hours after daughter’s wedding

Governor Darius Ishaku of Taraba State on Tuesday evening inaugurated 23 commissioners with a call on them to work towards achieving success for the administration. This came after six months of his second term as the governor of the state.

The governor tasked the commissioners on loyalty, diligence, commitment, probity and accountability, noting that these attributes were crucial to the state’s development plans and key to realising success.

The governor emphasised the need to fulfil the challenges of leaving a lasting legacy, and cautioned the officials against distractions from relations, friends and party loyalists.

Ishaku said that the administration had much to do toward making Taraba the destination of investors and true home of peace and development.

The commissioners who were drawn from the 16 local government areas of the state and a development area were Naphtali Agbu Kefas, Dr Jesse Adi, Arc Benjamin Gani all from Wukari LGA, Dr. Badina Garba and Edward Baraya came from Karim lamido.

Others include Innocent Vakai, Ardo Lola, Gambo Ndafo, Donga,  Nya Akirinkwe, Ussa,  Hauwa Kwena, Yangtu Development Area, Barr. Sam Ada and Aliyu Dankaro all from Takum, while Ibi has Obidia Asseh and  Alexander Marcus Sello from Zing.

The rest are Alhassan Hassan Hamman and Bridget Twar from Gassol, David Ishaya, Terri, Johhanness Jigem and Yusuf Njeke, Sardauna,  Ibrahim Lawal, Bali,  Adamu- Ibrahim, Gashaka,  Adamu Ibrahim, Bali, Elisha Solomon, Kurmi and Irimiya Hammanjulde, Lau as well as Saleh Sa’ad and Imam Imam, all from Jalingo.

The governor also swore in the State’s Head of Civil Service,  Susan Jonathan alongside 12 permanent Secretaries who were also drawn from the different local government areas of the state.

The permanent are Samuel Lauya – Ardo-Kola, Isiyaka Evi Bashi – Donga, Danladi Ushiki Adamu – Donga, Lawan Garba – Gassol, Taki Zaku Badun- Ibi, Sunday Maiyaki Tanko – Karim Lamido, and Henry Lackman Aleng – Sardauna

Others are Janet Shamaki – Ussa, Umar Moh’d Abdul – Wukari, Dr. Koku Ebenezer Apake – Wukari, Daniel Atenji – Yangtu Development Area as well as Kabiru Dahiru Marafa – Jalingo.

The governor, however, informed the commissioners that they were the middlemen between him and the people and pleaded with the people of the state not to overweigh them with much pressure on demands as this may keep them off on their official duties.

Nya Akirinkwe who spoke on behalf of the commissioners thanked the Governor for finding them worthy to be appointed into his cabinet, assuring him of their total loyalty and commitment in helping him achieve the desired developments set for the state.

On her part, the Head of service, Jonathan, appreciated the Governor on behalf of the newly Permanent Secretaries and assured him of their unflinching support and efforts in making sure that the civil service is well coordinated.