• Wednesday, February 21, 2024
businessday logo


Delta Assembly screens, confirms additional seven commissioner nominees

Delta Assembly screens, confirms additional seven commissioner nominees

The Delta State House of Assembly on Thursday screened and confirmed additional seven nominees for appointment as Commissioners and Members of the Delta State Executive Council.

The confirmation of the nominees whose names were forwarded last Tuesday by Governor Ifeanyi Okowa, followed the successful screening of the nominees at plenary, presided over by the Speaker, Sherrif Oborevwori.

Those screened and had their appointments confirmed include, Martin Okonta, Fidelis Tilije, Lawrence Ejiofor, Barry Pere Gbe, Julius Egbedi, Mr Churchill Amagada, and Arthur Akpowowo.

The nominees were introduced by the respective lawmakers representing them in the hallowed chamber.

First to be screened was Martins Okonta from Ika South who was asked to take a bow and leave as former Speaker of the Delta State House and also a one time Deputy Majority Leader of the House.

Immediately followed were Engr. Lawrence Ejiofor, from Aniocha South, Barry Pere Gbe, from Bomadi and Julius Egbedi, from Sapele Local Government Area.

The confirmation of the seven nominees followed a motion to that effect by the Majority Leader, Tim Owhefere, seconded by the Deputy Majority Leader, Oboro Preyor and unanimously adopted.