• Wednesday, July 24, 2024
businessday logo


2015: PDP begs councillors to help win votes for Jonathan

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has pleaded passionately with councillors to help win votes for its presidential candidate, Goodluck Jonathan, ahead of the February 14 exercise.
To this end, the party has organised a councillors conference for all its councillors across the country.
Speaking at the Old Banquet Hall, Presidential Villa, Abuja, venue of the programme for North Central geo-political zone, on Thursday, Jerry Gana, director, contact and mobilisation, PDP
Presidential Campaign Organisation, described the councillors as “local image home makers” of Jonathan.
While calling on participants not to engage in propaganda in canvassing support for the president, Gana, a former information minister, stressed that the PDP has “a good product to sell”.
Councillors, he said, are grassroots politicians and foot soldiers who are in best position to promote Jonathan in all nooks and crannies of Nigeria.
“Jonathan deserves to be re-elected. They (opposition) are professors of Kirikiri. Jonathan is a professor of development. You should win in your units, wards, local government and state levels,” he stated.
On his part, a former minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and grand patron, PDP Councillors Forum, Mohammed Abba Gana, said of the over 7,000 councillors in the country, 6,521 of them are PDP members.
He tasked them to galvanise support for the president through the use of social media.
The event, he said, will hold across the six geo-political zones of the country within two weeks.
To him, next month’s election is a “done deal” for the ruling party at all levels.
He said, “PDP councillors constitute nearly 70 percent of all councillors. Seven out of every 10 councillors in Nigeria are PDP members”.
Earlier, chairman, PDP Councillors Forum, Collins Onogu, said the party would work assiduously to ensure victory for the party at all levels.
Councillors from the North Central states of Benue, Kogi, Kwara, Niger, Nasarawa, Plateau and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) attended the event.