• Monday, December 04, 2023
businessday logo


Nigeria auto award enters 8th edition


This year’s edition of Nigeria Auto Awards (TNAA) has been scheduled to hold at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos at the end of this month. To set the ball rolling, TNAA in conjunction with On Wheels Magazine, have finalised preparations to hold the 8th edition of the award at the end of this month in Lagos. Its call for nominations in the various car, SUV, truck, tyre and corporate categories haven been completed and nominees informed.

According to available literatures, the publishers of On Wheels indicated that while working assiduously towards celebrating a decade of the pioneering of the event in less than two years from now, arrangements have been completed for an elaborate celebration with the view of once again raising the stake.

Speaking on the purpose and genre of the event, especially as it relates to its target audience, Jabez Aina-Scott, publisher of On Wheels magazine said that “The Nigeria Auto Awards is a time tested and value driven event, introduced eight years ago to celebrate people and industry practitioners who have made strenuous efforts to distinguish themselves both in brand building and market leadership.”

Explaining further, he informed that nominations recently concluded had thrown up one of the following brands; Toyota Camry, Hyundai Sonata, Kia Optima, Honda Accord and Ford Taurus as the likely ones to be adjudged the winner of the CAR OF THE YEAR crown. This was won last year by Hyundai Elantra.

Also concluded at the nomination level are several other segments that include this year’s trophy for the best car-design which was won by Land Rover Range Rover Evoque at the previous edition and features the Honda Crosstour, Ford Taurus and Hyundai Sonata for this edition.

Jabez Aina-Scott, who is also the managing director and chief operating officer of the conveners, in a statement, announced that the Advisory Board of the Nigeria Auto Awards has been re-vamped to include representatives of regulating authorities in advertising – APCON and the Consumer Protection Council (CPC).