• Saturday, February 24, 2024
businessday logo


AFCON: Here are teams that qualified for Round of 16

Round of 16 Teams

A total of 16 teams have secured qualification into the Round of 16 of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), following the completion of matches in Group A, B, C D, E and F respectively on Wednesday night.

Teams like: Cape Verde, Senegal, Equatorial Guinea, Nigeria, Egypt, Cameroon, Guinea, Angola, Burkina Faso, Mauritania, Mali, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Namibia, Morocco and Dr Congo have all progressed to the knockout stage of the tournament.

With just 24 teams competing at AFCON it is not just the top two from each group who reach the last 16.

The top two teams from each of the six groups will reach the Round of 16 as well as the four best third-placed teams.

Host nation Ivory Coast booked their qualification as one of the best losers with three points after Morocco defeated Zambia 1-0 in the final Group F match played on Wednesday night.

Meanwhile, four times AFCON champions Black Star of Ghana have been sent packing out of the tournament.

Former two-time champions of the African Cup of Nations, Algeria and Tunisia have also crashed out of the tournament after losing 1-0 to Mauritania on Tuesday night.

The knockout stage matches begin on Saturday, January 27.

Qualified Teams


Cape Verde

Equatorial Guinea






Burkina Faso



South Africa


Ivory Coast


Dr Congo