• Saturday, July 13, 2024
businessday logo


2025 AFCON Qualifiers: Super Eagles drawn against Benin Republic, Rwanda

AFCON-Trophy (2)

The Super Eagles of Nigeria have been drawn into Group D for the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers in Morocco, alongside Benin Republic, Rwanda, and Libya.

The draw allows Nigeria’s Super Eagles to avenge their 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifying defeat to the Cheetahs of Benin Republic in Abidjan last month. Both teams are again paired in the same group for the 2025 AFCON qualifiers, which begin in September.

While their 2026 World Cup qualifying rematch is not until the final day of the qualification series (October 6-14, 2025), Nigeria and the Benin Republic will face off earlier as they compete for one of the 24 spots in the 2024 AFCON, scheduled to take place in Morocco from December 21, 2025, to January 18, 2026.

During the draw ceremony held in Johannesburg, South Africa, the Super Eagles were also grouped with the Amavubi of Rwanda – another team in their 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifying group, whom they will next play in March 2025 – and the Mediterranean Knights of Libya.

The draw included 48 countries divided into 12 groups of four teams each, with the top two teams from eleven groups qualifying directly for the finals.

The qualification matches are scheduled over FIFA windows in September, October, and November, with two in each seven-day window.

The six-match qualifying series promise to be exciting as teams battle for a place in one of Africa’s premier football tournaments.

The qualifiers will start in September 2024 and end in November 2024.

2025 AFCON Group Draws:

GROUP A: Tunisia, Madagascar, Comoros, The Gambia

GROUP B: Morocco, Gabon, Central African Republic, Lesotho

GROUP C: Egypt, Cape Verde, Mauritania, Botswana

GROUP D: Nigeria, Benin Republic, Libya, Rwanda

GROUP E: Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Togo, Liberia

GROUP F: Ghana, Angola, Sudan, Niger Republic

GROUP G: Cote d’Ivoire, Zambia, Sierra Leone, Chad

GROUP H: DR Congo, Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia

GROUP I: Mali, Mozambique, Guinea Bissau, Eswatini

GROUP J: Cameroon, Namibia, Kenya, Zimbabwe

GROUP K: South Africa, Uganda, Congo, South Sudan

GROUP L: Senegal, Burkina Faso, Malawi, Burundi