• Wednesday, November 29, 2023
businessday logo


NIESV to partner UPDC, others on urban development


Plans are underway by the National Institution of Estate Surveyors and Valuers (NIESV), Lagos State chapter, to partner private developers such as UACN property Development Company (UPDC), Skye Trustees, Nigerite, and Mutual Benefits Insurance on urban development.

Shola Fatoki, the chapter chairman who disclosed this at the institution’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Lagos also said that they have maintained a workable relationship with the state government, having continuously worked with it on issues relating to urban development and land administration.

Fatoki revealed that the institution was involved in the Planning Regulations Committee recently set up by the state’s Commissioner for Physical Planning and Urban Development

“We have maintained pleasant relationship with other allied professionals in the built environment through the Association of Professional Bodies of Nigeria (APBN)”, he said, adding that the institution is also working out a feasible platform for a cordial relationship with the Lagos State Real Estate Transaction Department (LASRETRAD) which members will be notified of the outcome soon.

On their plea for the reduction of land title charges to encourage more people register properties, he said the institution remained positive on the governor’s response.

“The President will soon meet with Directors of Land at Federal and State levels as well as other relevant officers responsible for land administration in Nigeria on problems associated with compensation and other related matters affecting the practices”, he said.

Continuing , he said the president was also working on the issue of registration of some firms for valuation jobs by the bank, saying “as part of our welfare commitment, we have continued to visit organizations and firms where members are working to know problems they encounter”, he said.

Meanwhile, Jagun Steven Olayinka has emerged as the new chairman of the state chapter, following an election held during the AGM. Ukpong Samuel Offiong and Dotun Bamigbola were elected vice chairman and secretary respectively.

Adeyemi Onikan was elected the assistant secretary, as Akinwunmi Olalekan emerged the publicity secretry and Foluke Sogunle was elected Treasurer. Rogba Orimalade, Ahamioje Omotola, Ogunlewe Oladapo and Asuquo Emmanuel constitute the ex-officio members.