• Tuesday, November 28, 2023
businessday logo


Abbey Building, Wemabod, others prominent at NIESV Honours Night


Abbey Building Society Plc (mortgage bankers), Wemabod Estates Limited and Nigeria Army Post Service Housing Directorate were among corporate institutions that were honoured by the Nigerian Institute of Estate Surveyors and Valuers (NIESV), Lagos State Chapter recently at the institution’s 10th biennial honours night recently in Lagos.

At individual level, the institution also honoured Lateef Jakande, former governor of Lagos State for his contribution to national development during his tenure as the governor of the State.

The former governor was honoured for his input in providing housing solutions to Lagos residents which he also extended to industry, agriculture, roads, education and sports.

Also honored was Nweke Ogbonnaya, former president of NIESV, for playing a significant role in strategically positioning the institution as a national body during his tenure.

Olutoyin Ayinde, former chairman, Nigerian Institute of Town Planners (NITP), Lagos State Chapter, was also honoured for his contribution to the association, such as establishing the NITP Monthly Bulletin.

In the light of his numerous contributions to urban and regional planning at the association’s state chapter, he was appointed to serve as a commissioner in the state’s Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development.

Sola Fatoki, Chairman, NIESV, Lagos State branch in his speech noted the immense contribution of the institute to national growth and development through land matters.

Some of these contributions include participation in national discourse and debates leading to the formation of appropriate land policies on land matters, he said. He also highlighted the institution’s role in availing extensive resources of qualified professionals on various national, state and local panels set up in pursuit of national goals.

Members of the association have been also involved in providing professional valuation services to individuals, Corporate and the Government for various purposes.

Among other individuals honoured on the night are past chairmen of the institutions.

Joshua Landenegan, past chairman NIESV Lagos State Chapter, was also honoured for his role as one of the founding members of the institute and his selfless service to the institution as a State Chairman and a fellow under the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors.

Akinola Olawore, past Chairman NIESV Lagos State Chapter (2005-2007) was honoured for his immense contribution to the growth of the institution and for his crucial roles in different committees he was appointed and as a representative of the institution at the International Valuation Standards Council.

Abiodun Oluwaluyi, past Chairman NIESV Lagos State Chapter was honoured for his contribution and his service to community development.

Recipients of the corporate award were Wemabod Estates Limited, Abbey Building Society, Inspiration FM, Nigeria Army Post Housing Directorate, Real Estate environment Magazine and Murhi International Television.