• Sunday, December 03, 2023
businessday logo


Tension as Sylva, APC excluded from Bayelsa guber poll

Tension as Sylva, APC excluded for Bayelsa guber poll

The All Progressives Congress (APC) standard bearer is conspicuously missing from the amended list of governorship candidates for Bayelsa State recently released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

In the amended list – for Bayelsa and Imo states – uploaded on the commission’s website today, Wednesday, the names of Timipre Sylva and his running mate, Joshua Maciver of the All Progressives Congress (APC) were conspicuously missing in the Bayelsa State election list.

Read also: Sylva disqualified from Bayelsa gubernatorial race, throws APC into disarray

The column for the names of the APC candidate and his ruining mate was left blank with “court order” remarks on it.

Also for Imo State, the commission included the names of Uchechukwu Ishiodu as the governorship candidate and Ahumbe Chiazor as the running mate, for the Peoples Redemption Party for the state election.

Oriaran-Anthony, in the amended document, explained that the action of the commission was in obedience to court orders on the lists, served on the commission.

She recalled that the commission published the final list of candidates for the 2023 Bayelsa State Governorship Election on June 9 in accordance with the provision of Section 32 of the Electoral Act, 2022, and the timetable and schedule of activities for the election.

She said that after the publication, the commission was served with a court order in respect of the nomination of the APC candidate for the Bayelsa State governorship election.

“By virtue of the provision of Section 287 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended), the commission is bound to enforce the orders of the court on the nomination of candidates by political parties in the state.

“The amended list of candidates in respect of the 2023 Bayelsa State governorship election is hereby amended pursuant to the orders of court served on the commission,” the list signed by the Secretary to the Commission, Rose Oriaran-Anthony said.

Read also: PDP to APC: Federal might won’t work in Bayelsa election

Recall that the Federal High Court, Abuja, on October 10, disqualified Sylva from participating in the state governorship election.