• Wednesday, February 28, 2024
businessday logo


PDP sets up panel on NASS leadership election


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Wednesday inaugurated a committee to investigate its members for refusing to abide by its directive over the June 11 National Assembly leadership elections.

Recall that the main opposition party had endorsed Ali Ndume and Umar Bago as President of the Senate and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively. However, Ahmad Lawan and Femi Gbajabiamila defeated the PDP anointed candidates to emerge Presiding Officers.

The committee is chaired by former Senate President, Adolphus Wabara with Wale Oladipo as Secretary.

Other members of the committee are Yunana Iliya; Ben Obi; Austin Opara; Ibrahim Mantu; Stella Omu; Margret Icheen; Hassan Hyatt; and Abdul Ningi.

The PDP Deputy National Chairman (South), Yemi Akinwonmi inaugurated the committee on behalf of the PDP National Chairman, Uche Secondus.

Speaking after their committee was inaugurated, Wabara promised on that the committee will perform its duties in accordance with the terms of reference diligently, “in such a manner that our members at the National Assembly will by the special grace of God remained intact and loyal to this party.”

He added, “At the National Assembly that is where politics starts and ends. We will go in there and ensure that there is peace what ever happens there will not lead to factionalisation of our party in the National Assembly.”

On his part, the deputy national chairman said, “When we have issues like this, we call on them. They are people that have seen every thing about this country, they have served the party in different capacity, they have contributed to the growth of this country. That is why the eminent gentlemen here you can’t find elsewhere in this country. These are the arrays people we are parading.”