PDP sets up committee for Electoral Act, constitutional amendments

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has announced the composition of its engagement committee on the proposed amendment to the Electoral Act and the 1999 Constitution (as amended).

The committee is chaired by a former Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremmadu, with Saminu Turaki (SAN) as secretary.

According to a statement by the PDP National Publicity Secretary, Kola Ologbondiyan, the members are PDP Deputy National Chairman (North), Senator Suleiman Nazif; Emmanuel Enoidem, members of House of Representatives, Tajudeen Yusuf, and Kingsley Chinda.

Others are Senator Sahabi Yau, Senator Biodun Olujimi, Laurentia Mallam, Oche Otorkpa (Youths Demography) and Joyce Ramnap.

READ ALSO: Kwara governor calls for collaborative effort to tackle insecurity

The statement said, “The committee is to among other things, collate inputs from critical stakeholders as well as engage relevant civil society groups and work closely with the National Assembly for more inclusive and accelerated processes in the desired amendment to the Electoral Act and the 1999 Constitution.

“Such amendments include a constitutional review that will among other things entrench the desired federal structure as well as a review of the Electoral Act that will guarantee free, fair, clean, transparent and credible elections while eliminating loopholes that encourage violence, manipulations and rigging at all levels.

“The PDP urges all critical stakeholders and all party members to avail themselves the opportunity presented by the establishment of the committee to make contributions towards the proposed amendment to the 1999 Constitution and the Electoral Act.”

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.