National Assembly approves N6.061trn budget for 2016, begins debate today

After weeks of blame trading, the Committee’s on Appropriations of both the Senate and House of Representatives finally laid the N6,060,677,358,227 expenditure for the 2016 fiscal year.

Breakdown of the budget obtained by BusinessDay showed that the sum of N351.370 trillion is for statutory transfers, N2,646,389,236,196 is for recurrent (non-debt), while N1,587,598,122,031 is for contribution to the development fund for capital expenditure.

The harmonised report of the appropriations bill, which was laid separately by Danjuma Goje, chairman, Senate Committee on Appropriations, and Abdulmumin Jibrin at the Tuesday plenary session, will be debated by the lawmakers today.

From the N351.370 approved for statutory transfers, National Assembly gets N115 billion; Universal Basic Education gets N77.110 billion; National Judicial Council gets N70 billion; INEC gets N45 billion; Niger Delta Development Commission gets N41.050 billion; Public Complaint Commission gets N2 billion, while National Human Rights Commission gets N1.210 billion.

Also captured in the budget are: N14,690,036,516 for group life insurance for all MDAs, including DSS/insurance sensitive assets/corpers; N1 billion for armed forces enhanced retirement benefits of commodores and above; N2.795 billion for severance benefits of Delta Steel company/Pension pay-off; N2,544,110,811 for military retirees NHIS; N36 million for administration and monitoring of OHSCF Group Life; N200 million for Pension verification and administration; N2.3 billion for entitlements of former presidents/heads of state and vice presidents/chief of general staff, and N1.5 billion for public service reforms (including payment of severance benefits of civil servants).

Out of total sum of N1,475,320,000,000 approved for Debt service, the sum of N1,307,400,000,000 is for Domestic Debts; N54.480 billion is for Foreign Debts while N113.440 billion is for Sinking fund to retire maturing Loans.

From the N1,898,444,450,116 approved for Recurrent (non-debt expenditure), Interior gets highest allocation of N451,942,552,070; Education gets N367,734,727,223; Defence gets N312,213,355,618; Health gets N221,412,548,087; Youth & Sports Development gets N72,297,326,595; Petroleum Resources gets N54,336,926,923; Foreign Affairs gets N39,440,096,249; Information and Culture gets N38,729,446,483; Works, Power & Housing gets N33,971,882,707; Agriculture gets N29,632,584,416, while Science and Technology gets N25,554,038,310.

Presidency gets N21,676,277,888; NSA gets N56,791,291,063; SGF gets N45,890,745,817; Head of Civil Service of the Federation gets N6,270,657,023; Justice gets N17,389,782,636; Environment gets N14,515,408,468; Transportation gets N13,667,122,591; Water Resources gets N7,219,056,441; Solid Minerals gets N9,402,106,704; Industry, Trade & Investment gets N10,410,294,458; Finance gets N9,994,990,976; National Planning gets N7,737,100,536; AGF gets N2,480,584,708; Labour & Employment gets N7,735,604,366; Niger Delta gets N1,261,723,837; ICPC gets N5,029,989,359; Communication & Technology gets N9,885,909,120; ICRC gets N838,569,623; FRC gets N320,198,366; Special Duties SGF gets N65,604,713 while Women Affairs gets N1,216,723,837.

According to the report on capital votes for Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs), Federal Ministry of Works, Power and Housing gets the lion share of N422,964,928,495, followed by Transportation with N188,674,679,674; Defence gets N130,864,439,542; Interior gets N61,713,279,496; Agriculture gets N46,173,963,859; Water Resources gets N46,081,121,423; Education gets N35,433,487,466; National Security Adviser gets N32,084,085,624 while FCTA gets N29,297,122,872.

The sum of N28,650,342,987 for Health; N27,006,179,073 for Science and Technology; N23,004,199,702 for Presidency; N20,319,288,049 for Secretary to the Government of the Federation; N19,440,328,551 for Niger Delta; N7,332,623,257 for Solid Minerals Development; N5,542,655,626 for Labour and Employment; N6,304,900,570 for Petroleum Resources; N5,992,735,230 for Communication Technology; N4,957,964,638 for Environment while N2,322,144,778 for Budget and National Planning.

The sums of N3,497,043,000 for Youth & Sports Development; N1,429,176,735 for office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation; N2,293,528,977 for Women Affairs; N897,736,744 for Justice; N123,044,650 for Fiscal Responsibility Commission; N169,871,885 for National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission; N35.730 million for Infrastructure Concessionary Regulatory Commission; N317,509,819 for Auditor General of the Federation while N667,842,500 for Finance.

From the N1,173,407,694,354 approved for Executive (Federal Exexutive bodies), Code of Conduct gets N4,889,127,358; Code of Conduct Tribunal gets N1,055,560,066; Federal Character Commission gets N984,780,230; Federal Civil Service Commission gets N16,841,017; National Population Commission gets N4,411,606,590; Police Service Commission gets N269,628,000 while Revenue Mobilisation, Allocation and Fiscal Commission gets N19,883,417.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.