• Tuesday, May 21, 2024
businessday logo


Mass cabinet resignations raise alarm of imminent APC defections in Rivers

Rivers update: Wike continues on warpath as Fubara keeps mum

So far, ten commissioners in the Sim Fubara’s cabinet have resigned in one day, and more may be coming in Rivers state. According to sources, this points to another round of mass defection to the All Progressives Congress (APC) of people loyal to the current FCT minister, Nyesom Wike.

Key members of the Wike camp had moved to the APC earlier, and it was speculated a few weeks ago that the next batch would be commissioners, lawmakers, and local council chairmen.

Read also Looming war against Fubara: Rivers’ lawmakers loyal to Wike decamp to APC

As of Thursday night, the following commissioners threw in their resignation letters: Emeka Woke (former chief of staff), Zacchaeus Adangor (a professor and attorney-general and commissioner for Justice), Dax Kelly George Alabo, Jacob Nbina, Charles Amadi, Inime Aguma, Nwafor Uchechuku, Isaac Kamalu (formerly budget but mow finance commissioner), Marshal Obuzor, and Mmon Chinedu Resigns (education).

Today, Friday, December 15, four other commissioners have been reported to have joined: Ibinano Michael-West for Transport; Housing is Gift World; Environment is Ben Chioma; and Health is Adaeze Oreh (Peter Odili’s daughter).

Read also Rivers brace for possible mass cabinet sacking, as five commissioners resign

More are expected to join the exodus, all to show that Wike practically populated the cabinet. Some have refused to resign, indicating they want to act according to their conscience.

A few days ago, 27 members of the Rivers State House of Assembly loyal to the FCT minister defected to the APC on the floor of the House, abandoning the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) that sponsored them to parliament. This prompted calls for a declaration that their seats in parliament were vacant.

A Rivers State High Court followed this up and declared the seats vacant. The ‘new’ speaker, Edison Ehie, who led about four lawmakers, declared their seats vacant and mandated the Independent National Electoral Commission (NEC) to go ahead and declare them vacant.

This exacerbated the crisis rocking the House since an impeachment notice to the governor was attempted.