• Friday, February 23, 2024
businessday logo


We won’t give up fight against terrorism, says Borno governor

We won’t give up fight against terrorism, says Borno governor

Borno State Governor Babagana Umara Zulum has stated that the state would not give up on the war on terrorism.

Zulum, who spoke at the Topflyers Magazine Award ceremony in Abuja, said while also providing basic amenities to the people of the state, he would fight the insurgents to a standstill.

Zulum was awarded for outstanding performance in government despite insurgency challenges. Others who were awarded include his Taraba State colleague, Governor Darius Dickson Ishaku, Abba Moro, Julius Ihonvbere, among others.

Governor Zulum, who was represented by his media aide, Isa Umar, said the state was committed to delivering dividends of his promises while also spearheading the war on the insurgency.

READ ALSO: Nigeria’s domestic gas market shows titanic potential but pricing weakens growth

While appreciating the publisher of the magazine, Musa Yahaya, for the honour done to him and his other colleagues, the governor promised to do more in uplifting the living standard of his people.

On his part, Ihonvbere, who is the lawmaker representing Owan Federal Constituency at the House of Representatives, said the award will spur him to do more for his constituents especially in the area of education.

Ihonvbere, who received the award alongside ministers, senators and captains of industry from Topflyer’s Magazine International, expressed his gratitude for the award.

The lawmaker promised to perform even better by efficiently representing his constituency and attracting greater development to the area.

“I am proud to have received the Award for ‘Best Legislator and Community Service of the Year’ from Topflyer’s International. I appreciate this award and promise to do even more in the coming year to ensure efficient and articulate representation for the people of Owan,” he said.

Ihonvbere’s recognition, according to the organisers, is as a result of his enormous contributions to humanity, societal re-engineering, national integration, positive disposition towards notable causes on national issues and community development.

“Topflyers Magazine has followed your uncommon political exploits in the mucky waters of Nigeria politics where your excellent contributions have kindled hope for the common man in Nigeria especially Edo State.

“Furthermore, your experience in both the private and public sectors, has given you an edge over your contemporaries. Consequently, your legislative proficiency has earned you one of the most vibrant and articulate legislators in the National Assembly as your humility, compassion to the vulnerable in our society are unparalleled.

“Owan Federal Constituency has seen great development and practical changes brought by the lawmaker in the area of education, human capital development and job creation, community support and infrastructure,” said the publisher.

Others honoured at the award ceremony include president of Abuja Newspaper Distribution Association, Benji Obute; Edward David Onoja; Kabiru Ibrahim Gaya; Her Excellency Bisi Adeleye Fayemi; Uchechukwu S. Ogah; Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu; Patrick Abba Moro; Jimoh Musa; Ignatius A. Onimawo; Adam Mukhtar Mohammed; Richard Okozi (JP); Williams Eniredonana Akporeha; Steve S. Azaiki; Salimo Oladiti; Valentine Oluwaseyi Buraimoh; Ahmed Tijani Ibrahim; Roland Itoyah Otaru (SAN); Julius A. Abuda; Adewale Opeyemi Aladejana; Paxy Elekima, among many others.

The event also featured the crowning of the winners of Face of Topflyers Pageant 2020/2021 with the overall winner, Rachael Matthew, as Miss Face of Topflyers magazine.