• Sunday, June 16, 2024
businessday logo


President Buhari approves renaming of airports, boards of aviation agencies

As Buhari returns to Abuja

President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday approved the renaming of some airports after some prominent Nigerians in recognition of their individual contribution to the development of the nation in different sectors.

He also approved the constitution of Boards for the Agencies which are mostly institutional representations. Below are the new names of the airports as approved by the President:

Akure International airport – Olumiya Bernard; Benin International Airport – Oba Akinzua 11; Dutse International Airport – Muhammad Nuhu Sanusi; Ebonyi International Airport – Chuba Wilberforce; Gombe International Airport – Brigadier Zakari Maimalari; Ibadan International Airport – Samuel Ladoke Akintola; Ilorin International Airport – Tunde Abdulbaki;
Kaduna International Airport – Hassan Usman Katsina and Maiduguri International Airport – President Muhammadu Buhari.

Others include Markudi International Airport – Joseph Sarwuan Tarka; Minna International Airport – Mallam Abubakar Imam; Nasarawa International Airport – Sheikh Usman Danfodio; Osubi International Airport – Alfred Deite Spiff;
Port Harcourt International Airport – Obafemi Jeremiah Awolowo and
Yola International Airport – Lamido Aliyu Mustapha.

Read also: Nigeria Air aircraft lands in Abuja airport

The Boards of the Agencies, which are approved by President Muhammadu Buhari are boards in the Nigeria Civil Aviation Authority, Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria, Nigerian Airspace Management Agency (NAMA), The Nigerian Safety Investigation Bureau (NSIB) and the Nigerian Meteorological Agency (NiMet).

The statement signed by Odutayo Oluseyi, the Head of Press and Public Affairs in the Ministry, indicated that NCAA is chaired by Lai are with two institutional members representing Ministries of Aviation and Defence.

FAAN would be chaired by Fola Akinkuotu with five institutional members representing the Ministries of Aviation, Defence, Justice and Tourism and NCAT while Mukhtar Aminu and Chris Aligbe are members.

NAMA has Bashir Sodangi as Chairman with four institutional members representing Ministries of Aviation, Communications and Digital Economy, Transportation and Nigerian Air Force as well as two other members to represent public interest. They are Richard Aisuegbon and Suleiman Balarabe Ismail.

NSIB would be chaired by Ezekiel Danboyi Zang with six other members including Suraj Abdulwahab, Ita Awak, Mall. Nasiru Anas, Alhaji Sani Maida, Pantani Esugo and Lawrence Fubara Anga.

Imoro Kubor is to chair the NiMet Board with four institutional members representing Ministries of Aviation, Agriculture and Natural, Resources, Environment and Transportation with Adebayo Yinka and Aliyu Umar Tambuwal as members.

And lastly NCAT would be chaired by Jonathan Ibrahim with institutional members which include Ministry of Aviation, NCAA, Nigeria’s ICAO representative; Representative of the aviation sector, Bashir Saad; Hajia Binta Aminu Iya representing community; Representative of the College elected from the congregation who should be a non-teaching staff and the college registrar.