• Thursday, May 30, 2024
businessday logo


PDP clinches Senate, House of Reps seats in Edo


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Edo Sunday night declared Mr Clifford  Ordia of PDP winner of  the  Edo Central  senatorial district.


INEC returning officer, Dr Francis Abiegue, who announced the results also declared PDP candidates,  Mr Joe Edionwele and Mr Segius  Oguns as winners of the House of Representatives seats.


Abiegue said Ordia got 84,782 votes to defeat his closest rival, Francis Inegbeneki  of All Progressives Congress (APC), who got 46,820 votes.


He said Oguns received 33,891 votes to defeat APC’s Onikolese Irabor who scored 14,348 votes to clinch the Esan North East/Esan South East Federal constituency seat.


The returning officer said Edionwele scored 36,075 votes to beat APC candidate, Gideon Obhakhan, who got 23,825 votes in the Esan West/Esan Central and Igueben Federal Constituency seat election.
READ ALSO: Leveraging COVID-19 tools to fund Nigeria’s epidemic preparedness


In Edo North, INEC returning officer Mr Adebayo Adedeji declared APC candidate, Mr Philip Shaibu winner of Estako Federal Constituency with 42,019 votes. He beat the PDP candidate, Abbas Braimoh who got 29,964 votes.


In Owan Federal Constituency, Mr Pally Iriase of APC scored 26, 606 to retain the Owan seat. His closest rival was Ambrose Imode of PDP who scored 21,069 votes.


In Akoko Edo Federal Constituency, the returning officer, Mr Alliu Momodu, declared APC candidate, Mr Peter Aphatasin with 19, 006 votes the winner.


His closest rival was Bankola Balogun of the PDP who scored 16,680 votes.


In Edo North Senatorial district, Mr Francis Alimikhena of the APC scored 86, 021 votes to defeat Mr Pascal Ugbome of PDP who got 66,092 votes.