• Thursday, June 20, 2024
businessday logo


Oshoala, Nnadozie make final 10-women shortlists for CAF awards 2023

Nigerian Asisat Oshoala wins 5th CAF women’s player

Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala of Barcelona and Chiamaka Nnadozie of Paris FC have been announced in the final shortlists for the CAF’s Player of the Year in women’s categories of the CAF Awards 2023.

On Monday, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) unveiled the final shortlists of 10 players for the Player of the Year category in the race for the individual honour.

The other categories, Interclub Player of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, National Team of the Year and Club of the Year, have five nominees each.

Read also Osimhen, Oshoala shortlisted for 2023 Globe Soccer Awards

However, Super Falcons coach Randy Waldrum, whose future has been uncertain since the last World Cup in Australia/New Zealand 2023, got nominated for the coach of the year for the women’s category, while Nnadozie is also in the final 5-women list of the goalkeeper of the year (Women).

The ultimate winner of each category will be decided after votes from a voting panel consisting of CAF technical committee, media professionals from member associations, head coaches and captains of member associations and clubs involved in the group stages of the interclub competitions.

The awards gala is scheduled for Monday, 11 December 2023, at the Palais des Congrès, Movenpick, Marrakech, Morocco.

Full List of Nominees (in alphabetic order by Member Association):

Player of the Year (Women)

1. Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon, Internazionale Milano)

2. Anissa Lahmari (Morocco, Levante Las Planas)

3. Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

4. Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)

5. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

6. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

7. Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

8. Hilda Magaia (South Africa, Sejong Sportstoto)

9. Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)

10. Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women)

1. Imane Abdelahad (Morocco, SC Casablanca)

2. Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)

3. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

4. Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

5. Kaylin Swart (South Africa, JVW)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

1. Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)

2. Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)

3. Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

4. Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)

5. Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Young Player of the Year (not more than 21 years)

1. Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)

2. Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

3. Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburg Panthers)

4. Esther Opeyemi Ajakaye (Nigeria, Delta Queens)

5. Thubelihle Shamase (South Africa, University of Johannesburg FC)

Coach of the Year (Women)

1. Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca)

2. Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

3. Randy Waldrum (Nigeria)

4. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

5. Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

National Team of the Year (Women)

1. Morocco

2. Nigeria

3. Senegal

4. South Africa

5. Zambia

Club of the Year (Women)

1. Ampem Darkoa (Ghana)

2. AS FAR (Morocco)

3. SC Casablanca (Morocco)

4. Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

5. JKT Queens (Tanzania)